European Southern Observatory

A cooperative effort of 10 member states of the European union, ESO operates a number of large-scale telescopes such as the “Very Large Telescope” (VLT) and the “New Technology Telescope” (NTT). The telescopes themselves are located in Chile; the observatory’s main office is in Garching, close to Munich in Germany.

ESO website