Einstein@Home – gravitational waves for everybody

Information on how you personally can help with the search for gravitational wave – by donating processing time on your private computer

An article by Reinhard Prix, Bernd Machenschalk and Benjamin Knispel

Tens of thousands of computer users world-wide hunt for gravitational waves – by donating idle compute cycles on their personal computers. Whenever they are not using the full computing power, their PCs analyze data from the LIGO detectors to search for continuous gravitational waves. A screen saver (see below) allows the volunteers to stay up to date with what data their computers are analyzing and where in the sky the program is currently searching for gravitational waves.

Einstein@Home

The project that invites users to join the gravitational wave hunt is called Einstein@Home, and the reason for this effort is that the hunt requires immense computing power. This is because in current gravitational wave detectors, the gravitational wave signals from rapidly rotating neutron stars are expected to be very weak compared with the detector noise. To find out whether a gravitational wave is buried in the noise, one can search for gravitational wave signals with a well-known shape, or waveform. This matched filter search – looking for characteristic patterns buried deep within large amounts of noisy data – requires huge computing power.

Waves from rotating neutron stars

The characteristic pattern that Einstein@Home is looking for is a very simple class of gravitational wave signals, which are emitted by rapidly rotating, slightly deformed neutron stars. In order to emit gravitational waves, they must own a slight asymmetry with respect to their rotational axis (for example, stars that have tiny bumps on their surface). Neutron stars are well-known “beasts” to astronomers: about 3000 of them are known as pulsars in our Galaxy. Back-of-the-envelope calculations using the rate of supernova explosions that create neutron stars imply that there should be about 100 million neutron stars in the Milky Way. Where are all of them? Some of the missing neutron stars may only be detectable by measuring the gravitational waves they emit. These waves have a very simple structure – they are emitted as regular continuous sine waves with a frequency twice as large as that of the star’s rotation.

Even though the signal itself is simple, its identification in the detector data is not. First of all, such waves will generically be very weak. Only a long-term search covering long periods of observation can tell whether such weak signals are present in the data or, if none are found, how strong they possibly could have been to escape detection. The weaker the signal, the longer the required observation time. For current gravitational wave detectors, observation times are of the order of months or years.

That leads to the next set of difficulties: During such a long time, the Earth (with the detector on it) rotates around its axis, and moves in its orbit around the Sun. So the detector moves relative to the source, leading to the Doppler effect: relative motion between a wave source and a receiver changes the frequency measured at the receiver. Correspondingly, the gravitational wave frequency changes slightly over time – with the exact nature of the change depending on the position of the gravitational wave source in the sky.

This has an upside and a downside. The upside: One can use the Doppler shift to pinpoint the object’s position in the sky. The downside: the Doppler shift makes the search for signal patterns much more complicated. When looking for the signal from an unknown neutron star, it is not sufficient to look for all the possible different frequencies. In addition, one needs separate search patterns for all possible positions of the source in the sky, which incorporate the possible Doppler shifts. (There is, in fact, one further parameter that hasn’t been mentioned so far: For many neutron stars, the rotation becomes slower over time. After all, the neutron star is converting rotational energy into electromagnetic and hopefully gravitational waves. In searches, one must therefore look for all different possible values of such a decelerated rotation, called “spin-down”, as well.)

The bad news: The resulting number of patterns, or parameter combinations, is so large that even with a supercomputer, a complete search would take an inordinate amount of time. In fact, the available computing power ultimately limits the sensitivity of searches for continuous gravitational waves.

The good news: By its very nature, the search for a great number of different patterns is a problem that can be easily split up into smaller entirely independent work packages. If the amount of data required for each work package is small enough, these may be distributed to a large number of computers via the Internet. Each computer then works on its own subset of patterns. This brings us back to the Einstein@Home project.

Harnessing the power of private computers

Around the world, there are billions of computers in private or commercial use, from privately owned single computers to the computer pools of large companies. Almost none of them are in permanent use – typically, there are many idle periods. A huge potential source of computational power, that is largely untapped. Whoever manages to put even a fraction of that idle time to good use will command a total computing power much larger than that of the world’s supercomputers.

The project which became famous for implementing this ingenious idea on a large scale was “SETI@Home” – the search for radio signals sent by intelligent extraterrestrial beings. Its great success led to the development of a free library named BOINC. Einstein@Home combines BOINC with the search algorithms for the gravitational wave signals of rapidly rotating neutron stars. The software was mainly developed and is maintained at the Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics (Albert Einstein Institute, AEI) and at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Einstein@Home was one of the flagship projects of the American Physical Society for the World Year of Physics 2005. It also was an International Year of Astronomy 2009 project.

Before a background of an emitting compact object, a user holds a smart phone with Einstein@home software active. The display shows the interface and says "Binary Radio Pulsar Search".

Reach out for the stars and discover new radio pulsars with Einstein@Home on your Android device. Image credit: Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics/B. Knispel/NASA

Since its launch in 2005, it has grown to become one of the four largest computing projects in the world, regardless of whether the metric is number of volunteers, computing power, or scientific output in number of published papers.
Although the software that Einstein@Home is based on (BOINC) can manage small to medium size projects, running on a single server computer, a project the size of Einstein@Home with tens of thousands of volunteers and computers active at any given time requires significantly more effort. Einstein@Home features about a dozen server machines.

So how does this work? Once you have signed up and installed the software (to do this, go to the Einstein@Home homepage), the Einstein@Home servers regularly send chunks of data and search codes to your computer. Whenever the computer is not being used, it applies the search algorithms to the data at hand. The results are sent back to the Einstein@Home servers. There is a credit system that allows users, or teams of users, to monitor their contribution to the project; lists of the top participants and teams are maintained on the Einstein@Home website.

As powerful as the largest supercomputers

As of today, 15 years after the project launch more than 500,000 volunteers from all around the globe have contributed compute cycles to Einstein@Home. More than 20,000 users with nearly 35,000 computers and 300,000 CPU cores are active on average. What’s more, some computations are done on almost 15,000 graphics processing units (GPUs) contributed by volunteers. GPUs feature many more computing cores than CPUs which can process data in parallel; for certain types of calculations the lower precision is sufficient and more than offset by the massive computing power provided by GPUs. This has brought the computational power of Einstein@Home to about 6 PetaFLOPs, six quadrillion elementary computations per second on par with the 25 most powerful computers in the world.

The most sensitive search for continuous gravitational waves

The long-term goal of Einstein@Home is the direct detection of continuous gravitational waves. While this direct detection has not been achieved to date, search runs with improving sensitivity provide increasingly better upper limits on the emission of continuous gravitational waves from a Galactic population of neutron stars.

Einstein@Home is the most sensitive all-sky search for continuous gravitational waves in existence. Most recently it has searched public data from LIGO’s second observing run (O2). While fake signals simulated at the LIGO detectors for validation purposes where successfully discovered as expected, no other continuous gravitational waves were found. But even this non-detection is astrophysically meaningful: if the most sensitive search for such signals does not find anything, this information can be turned into a statement about the population of rapidly rotating neutron stars in our Galaxy. For the results from Einstein@Home’s O2 search, this means that there cannot be neutron stars rotating faster than 12,000 rpm being deformed by more than a ten-millionth of their radius within roughly 300 lightyears around the Sun.

Searching for electromagnetic features of neutron stars

In spring 2009, Einstein@Home launched a new search for radio pulsars in binary systems using data from the Arecibo Radio Observatory in Puerto Rico. This work was developed at the AEI in Hanover in collaboration with the PALFA collaboration, then led by Prof. Jim Cordes at Cornell. While this search is intended to find new radio pulsars in sub-hour period binary orbits, it is also sensitive to isolated radio pulsars and to radio pulsars in longer period orbits. Further radio pulsar searches were done in archival data from the Parkes radio telescope. As of today this search has discovered 55 previously unknown pulsars. It currently also runs on ARM-powered devices with Android and Linux operating systems.
Among the radio pulsars discovered with Einstein@Home were several rapidly rotating millisecond pulsars, some in binary systems that allow for tests of Einstein’s general theory of relativity, others that switch their radio emission off from time to time, and some from rare species in the zoo of pulsars.

A compact object is surrounded by curved lines indicating its magnetic field, green lights above the poles and purple light above the surface indicate emitted radiation.

A pulsar is a compact neutron star with an extremely strong magnetic field. The acceleration of particles in this field produces gamma radiation (purple) far above the surface of the compact remains of the star, for example, while radio waves (green) are emitted over the magnetic poles. Image credit: NASA/Fermi/Cruz de Wilde

Since mid 2011, Einstein@Home has also been analyzing data from the Fermi gamma-ray satellite using novel methods that were initially developed for continuous gravitational-wave searches at the AEI in Hanover. As of today, Einstein@Home has discovered 25 new gamma-ray pulsars. There is also a successful search for selected gamma-ray pulsars in binary systems which runs on GPUs provided by the project volunteers.

The gamma-ray discoveries by Einstein@Home include the first millisecond pulsar visible only in gamma rays, an odd couple consisting of a heavy neutron star with a very low mass companion orbiting it, a record-breaking millisecond pulsar in a binary system, a young and energetic neutron star with an unusually irregular rotation, and many more.

Will your computer be the first?

Einstein@Home is constantly refining the search strategy with software development and data analysis working hand in hand to make ever better use of the substantial computing power donated by the volunteers. Einstein@Home is the most sensitive and most powerful tool in the search for continuous gravitational waves. With some luck, your contribution could be crucial in the first ever detection of this elusive type of gravitational waves!

Further Information

For basic information about the relativistic physics touched upon in this article, please refer to Elementary Einstein, in particular to the chapter Gravitational Waves.

Related spotlight topics on Einstein-Online can be found in the section Gravitational Waves. For a list of current gravitational wave detector projects, see our spotlight Listening posts around the globe.

To reach the web-site of the Einstein@Home project, go to Einstein@Home

This article was updated in January 2021. The original from 2010 can be downloaded here.

Colophon
Reinhard Prix

is a scientist at the Albert Einstein Institute in Hannover. His research interests include neutron stars and the detection of gravitational waves. He is one of the developers of the Einstein@Home project; fittingly, he is co-author of our spotlight topic Einstein@Home – gravitational waves for everybody, written during his time as a post-doctoral researcher in the astrophysics group at Albert Einstein Institute in Potsdam.

Bernd Machenschalk

is a computer scientist at the Albert Einstein Institute in Hannover, where he works on the data analysis of the gravitational wave detectors LIGO and GEO600. He is a major contributor to the Einstein@Home project. During his time at the Albert Einstein Institute in Potsdam he was, unsurprisingly, co-author of the spotlight topic Einstein@Home – gravitational waves for everybody.

Citation

Cite this article as:
Reinhard Prix, Bernd Machenschalk and Benjamin Knispel, “Einstein@Home – gravitational waves for everybody” in: Einstein Online Band 13 (2020), 13-1001

Einstein@Home – Gravitationswellenjagd für alle

Informationen zu einem Projekt, bei dem sich private Nutzer mit ihren Computern an der Suche nach Gravitationswellen beteiligen können – vielleicht ja auch Sie?

Ein Artikel von Reinhard Prix, Bernd Machenschalk, Benjamin Knispel

Für derzeit einige zehntausend Computerbenutzer weltweit gilt: Wenn sie ihren Rechner gerade nicht selbst beanspruchen, begibt er sich auf die Jagd nach Gravitationswellen. Dazu werden Datenpakete der LIGO- Detektoren geladen und mit Hilfe eines Auswerteprogramms bearbeitet, während ein Bildschirmschoner (Bild unten) anzeigt, welche Daten der Computer gerade analysiert und welchen Himmelssektor er dabei nach Gravitationswellen durchsucht.

Einstein@Home

Das Projekt, das Nutzer einlädt bei der Gravitationswellenjagd mitzumachen, heißt Einstein@Home, und der Grund, viele Kräfte bei dieser Jagd zu bündeln, ist die immense Rechenleistung, die sie benötigt. Denn bei den aktuell betriebenen Gravitationswellendetektoren sind typische Gravitationswellensignale im Vergleich mit den vielfachen Störeinflüssen sehr schwach. Um herauszufinden, ob sich in dem Rauschen ein Gravitationswellensignal verbirgt, muss man genau wissen, wonach man sucht – und kann nach Signalen mit einer genau bekannten Form suchen. Das stellt freilich an die Rechenleistung höchste Anforderungen.

Wellen von rotierenden Neutronensternen

Das charakteristische Signal, nach dem Einstein@Home Ausschau hält, gehört zu einer sehr einfachen Klasse von Gravitationswellen, wie sie von rotierenden, leicht deformierten Neutronensternen ausgesandt werden. Um Gravitationswellen zu emittieren, dürfen diese nicht vollkommen rotationssymmetrisch sein (sollten also etwa leichte Beulen aufweisen). Neutronensterne sind Astronominnen und Astronomen bestens bekannt: Etwa 3000 solcher Objekte kennen sie als Pulsare in unserer Galaxie. Überschlägt man die Gesamtzahl von Neutronensternen anhand der Rate von Supernova-Explosionen, aus denen sie entstehen, dann müsste die Milchstraße über 100 Millionen Neutronensterne beherbergen! Aber wo sind sie? Einige der fehlenden Neutronensterne könnten nur über ihre Gravitationswellensignale detektierbar sein. Diese haben eine sehr einfache Struktur: abgestrahlt werden einfache Sinuswellen, deren Frequenz gerade doppelt so groß ist wie die der Sternrotation.

Trotz der Einfachheit des Signals ist der Suchaufwand gerade hier sehr groß: Da zu erwarten ist, dass solche Wellen äußerst schwach sind, lässt sich nur über lange Beobachtungszeiträume entscheiden, ob die Daten tatsächlich ein solches Signal enthalten oder nicht. Je schwächer das Signal, umso länger der benötigte Beobachtungszeitraum; für die heutigen Detektoren sind dies Monate oder Jahre.

Die langen Beobachtungszeiten führen zur nächsten Schwierigkeit, denn währenddessen dreht sich die Erde (mit dem Detektor darauf) um sich selbst und bewegt sich zudem auf ihrer Bahn um die Sonne. Diese Bewegung des Detektors relativ zur Quelle verursacht einen Dopplereffekt, durch den sich die von irdischen Beobachtern gemessene Frequenz des Signals mit der Zeit etwas verändert – und zwar je nach dem Ort der Quelle am Himmel ein wenig anders.

Das ist einerseits positiv, heißt es doch, dass sich aus einem nachgewiesenen Signal auch die Position der Gravitationswellenquelle bestimmen lässt. Andererseits folgt daraus aber ungünstigerweise: Wer in den Detektordaten nach den Gravitationswellensignalen von bislang unbekannten Neutronensternen sucht, muss nicht nur alle möglichen Frequenzen durchprobieren. Er muss auch für jeden möglichen Ort der Quelle nach einer etwas anderen Art von Signalverlauf suchen. (Ein weiterer Suchparameter blieb bislang unerwähnt: Bei vielen Neutronensternen nimmt die Rotationsgeschwindigkeit mit der Zeit ab. Auch die verschiedenen Abbremsungswerte müssen in entsprechenden Suchmustern berücksichtigt werden.)

Die schlechte Nachricht: Insgesamt ergibt sich eine Vielzahl von Mustern, die selbst von Großrechnern nicht zu bewältigen ist. Wie effektiv die heutigen Gravitationswellendetektoren im Aufspüren von unbekannten Neutronensternen sind, wird nicht durch die Detektortechnik begrenzt, sondern vor allem durch die verfügbare Rechenleistung.

Die gute Nachricht: Die Suche nach diesen Mustern lässt sich problemlos in kleinere, unabhängige Arbeitspakete splitten. Wenn die Datenmenge für jedes dieser Arbeitspakete klein genug ist, können diese über das Internet an viele verschiedene Computer verteilt werden. Jeder Computer bearbeitet dann sein eigenes kleines Datenpaket. Und das bringt uns zurück zu Einstein@Home.

Die Rechenleistung privater Computer anzapfen

Weltweit gibt es sowohl in Privathaushalten als auch in Firmen Milliarden von Computern, deren Rechenkapazität bei weitem nicht zu jeder Zeit ausgelastet ist. Wer auch nur einen Teil ihrer Leerlaufzeit nutzt, erschließt sich ein Rechenpotenzial, das alle Supercomputer in den Schatten stellt.

Diese geniale Idee wurde erstmals mit dem Projekt „SETI@Home“ im großen Stil umgesetzt – dort war es die Suche nach Radiosignalen außerirdischer Intelligenzen, die auf viele Privatrechner verteilt wurde. Einstein@Home nutzt die für dieses Projekt entwickelte Software (eine frei verfügbare Bibliothek namens BOINC), verbindet sie mit den Suchalgorithmen für die Signale rotierender Neutronensterne und ermöglicht so einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit die Teilnahme an der Gravitationswellenjagd. Entwickelt wurde die Einstein@Home-Software hauptsächlich an der Universität Wisconsin-Milwaukee (USA) und am Albert-Einstein-Institut in Potsdam. Einstein@Home gehört zudem zu den Projekten der American Physical Society im Weltjahr der Physik 2005 und zum Internationalen Jahr der Astronomie 2009.

Vor dem Hintergrund eines emittierenden kosmischen Objekts hält ein Nutzer ein Smartphone. Das Display zeigt die Einstein@Home Software, laut der Anzeige läuft gerade die Suche nach einem Signal binärer Radiopulsare.

Greifen Sie nach den Sternen und entdecken Sie neue Radiopulsare mit Einstein@Home auf Ihrem Android-Gerät! Bildnachweis: Max Planck Institut für Gravitationsphysik/B. Knispel/NASA

Seit seiner Einführung 2005 ist Einstein@Home zu einem der größten Rechenprojekte der Welt angewachsen, egal, ob man die Zahl der Freiwilligen, die Rechenleistung oder den wissenschaftlichen Output anhand der Zahl der veröffentlichten Fachartikel betrachtet.

Die Software, auf der Einstein@Home basiert (BOINC), kann kleinere bis mittelgroße Projekte bewältigen, die von einem einzelnen Server kontrolliert werden. Allerdings bringt Einstein@Home mit seinen zehntausenden Computern, die zur gleichen Zeit aktiv sind, doch eine deutlich größere Rechnerlast. Darum betreibt Einstein@Home etwa ein Dutzend eigene Server für Steuerung des verteilten Rechnens.

Wie funktioniert das Ganze? Wer seinen Computer auf Einstein@Home angemeldet und die Software installiert hat, dem senden die Einstein@Home-Server regelmäßig Datenpakete und Auswerteprogramme. Wann immer der Computer nicht anderweitig genutzt wird, wendet er die Suchalgorithmen auf die Daten an und sendet die Ergebnisse zurück an die Einstein@Home-Server. Ein Punktesystem schafft zusätzlichen Anreiz: Benutzende oder Benutzergruppen („Teams“) können anhand einer auf der Einstein@Home-Webseite veröffentlichten Rangliste sehen, wie viele Punkte sie bereits errungen und wie viel sie damit persönlich zur Gravitationswellensuche beigetragen haben. Eine Liste der Top-Teilnehmenden und -Teams findet sich auf der Einstein@Home-Website.

So leistungsfähig wie ein Supercomputer

Mehr als eine halbe Million Freiwillige aus der ganzen Welt haben dem Projekt bis heute, 15 Jahre nach dem Start, Rechenzyklen zur Verfügung gestellt. Mehr als 20.000 Benutzer mit fast 35.000 Computern und 300.000 CPU-Kernen sind im Durchschnitt aktiv. Darüber hinaus werden einige Berechnungen auf fast 15.000 Grafikprozessoren (GPUs) durchgeführt, die Freiwillige zur Verfügung stellen. GPUs verfügen über viel mehr Rechenkerne als CPUs, mit denen Daten parallel verarbeitet werden können; für bestimmte Berechnungen ist die geringere Präzision ausreichend und wird durch die große Rechenleistung der GPUs ausgeglichen. Dadurch beträgt die Rechenleistung von Einstein@Home etwa sechs PetaFLOPs, sechs Billiarden einzelne Rechenoperationen pro Sekunde – auf Augenhöhe mit den leistungsfähigsten Supercomputern der Welt.

Die empfindlichste Suche nach kontinuierlichen Gravitationswellen

Das langfristige Ziel von Einstein@Home ist der direkte Nachweis kontinuierlicher Gravitationswellen. Bislang ist das noch nicht geglückt. Doch Suchen mit immer höherer Empfindlichkeit verbessern die Nachweisgrenze von kontinuierlichen Gravitationswellen der galaktischen Neutronensterne beständig.

Einstein@Home ist die empfindlichste auf den ganzen Himmel bezogene Suche nach kontinuierlichen Gravitationswellen, die es gibt. Jüngst hat sie sich die öffentlichen Daten von LIGOs zweitem Beobachtungslauf (O2) vorgenommen. Während künstliche Signale, die an den LIGO Detektoren zu Validierungszwecken simuliert werden, erwartungsgemäß erfolgreich entdeckt wurden, wurden darüber hinaus keine anderen kontinuierlichen Gravitationswellensignale gefunden. Aber selbst diese Nicht-Detektion ist astrophysikalisch bedeutsam: Sie verrät etwas über die Population schnell rotierender Neutronensterne in unserer Galaxie. Angewandt auf den Einstein@Home-Suchlauf für O2 bedeutet das etwa, dass es innerhalb von etwa 300 Lichtjahren um die Sonne keine Neutronensterne geben kann, die schneller als 12.000 Mal pro Minute rotieren und um mehr als ein Zehnmillionstel ihres Radius deformiert sind.

Die Suche nach elektromagnetischen Signalen von Neutronensternen

Im Frühling 2009 startete Einstein@Home eine neue Suche nach Radiopulsaren in Doppelsystemen mit Daten vom Arecibo-Radioobservatorium in Puerto Rico. Diese Arbeit wurde zusammen mit der PALFA Kollaboration am AEI in Hannover entwickelt und dann von Prof. Jim Cordes in Cornell geleitet. Diese Suche dient dazu, neue Radiopulsare in Doppelsystemen mit Umlaufsystemen von weniger als einer Stunde zu finden, sie ist aber auch empfindlich für isolierte Radiopulsare und solche in Orbits mit einer längeren Umlaufzeit. Weitere Suchen nach Radiopulsaren werden in den Archivdaten des australischen Parkes-Radioteleskops durchgeführt. Stand heute hat diese Suche 55 bis dahin unbekannte Pulsare gefunden. Zurzeit läuft sie auf ARM-angetriebenen Geräten unter Android und Linux.

Unter den Radiopulsaren, die Einstein@Home entdeckte, gab es mehrere schnell rotierende Millisekunden-Pulsare, manche in Doppelsystemen, die Tests der Allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie erlauben; solche, die ihre Radioemissionen von Zeit zu Zeit abschalten und ein paar Seltenheiten im Zoo der Pulsare.

In der Mitte ist ein kosmisches Objekt, darum verlaufende Kurven zeigen das Magnetfeld an. Lila und grüne Lichtflecken stehen für emittierte Strahlung.

Ein Pulsar ist ein kompakter Neutronenstern mit einem extrem starken Magnetfeld. Darin werden Partikel beschleunigt, was zur Abstrahlung von Gammawellen (lila) und Radiowellen (grün) führt. Bildnachweis: NASA/Fermi/Cruz de Wilde

Seit Mitte 2011 analysiert Einstein@Home auch Daten des Fermi Gamma-ray Space Telescopes mithilfe neuer Methoden, die ursprünglich für die Gravitationswellenjagd am AEI in Hannover entwickelt wurden. Stand heute hat Einstein@Home 25 neue Gamma-Pulsare entdeckt. Es gibt außerdem eine erfolgreiche Suche für ausgewählte Gamma-Pulsare in Doppelsystemen, die auf den GPUs der Freiwilligen läuft.

Die Entdeckungen von Einstein@Home im Bereich der Gammastrahlen umfasst auch den ersten Millisekunden-Pulsar, der nur im Gammabereich sichtbar ist, ein seltsames Gespann aus einem schweren Neutronenstern mit einem leichtgewichtigen Begleiter, der um ihn kreist; einen rekordverdächtigen Millisekunden-Pulsar in einem Doppelsystem, einen jungen und energiereichen Neutronenstern mit einer ungewöhnlich unregelmäßigen Rotation und viele mehr.

Wird Ihr Computer der erste sein?

Einstein@Home verbessert seine Suchstrategie kontinuierlich, indem Softwareentwicklung und Datenanalyse Hand in Hand arbeiten, sodass die enorme Rechenleistung, die die Freiwilligen spenden, noch besser genutzt werden kann. Einstein@Home ist das empfindlichste und mächtigste Werkzeug bei der Suche nach kontinuierlichen Gravitationswellen. Mit etwas Glück könnte Ihr Beitrag die erstmalige Entdeckung dieser schwer fassbaren Wellenart ermöglichen!

Weitere Informationen

Die relativistischen Grundkonzepte, die diesem Vertiefungsthema zugrundeliegen, werden in Einstein für Einsteiger erklärt, insbesondere im Kapitel Gravitationswellen.

Verwandte Vertiefungsthemen auf einstein-online finden sich in der Kategorie Gravitationswellen. Die aktuell betriebenen Gravitationswellendetektoren sind im Spotlight „Ohren in aller Welt“ gelistet.

Die Webseiten des Einstein@Home-Projektes findet man unter Einstein@Home

Dieser Artikel wurde im Januar 2021 aktualisiert. Die ursprüngliche Version von 2010 steht hier zum Download bereit.

Kolophon
Reinhard Prix

ist Wissenschaftler am Albert-Einstein-Institut in Hannover. Sein Forschungsinteresse gilt Neutronensternen und dem Nachweis von Gravitationswellen; er ist einer der Entwickler von Einstein@Home.

Bernd Machenschalk

ist Informatiker am Albert-Einstein-Institut in Hannover. Er arbeitet an der Analyse der Daten der Gravitationswellendetektoren LIGO und GEO600 und ist wesentlich an der Entwicklung von Einstein@Home beteiligt.

Benjamin Knispel

ist Astrophysiker und Pressereferent am Max-Planck-Institut für Gravitationsphysik (Albert Einstein Institut) in Hannover.

Zitierung

Zu zitieren als:
Reinhard Prix, Bernd Machenschalk, Benjamin Knispel, “Einstein@Home – Gravitationswellenjagd für alle” in: Einstein Online Band 13 (2020), 13-1101